Career Center   |   Print Page
Committees: Legal Ethics

InbarConnect |
The State Bar's email-based discussion list platform
Posting address:
InbarConnect FAQ


The 2016 Legal Ethics Essay Contest


The State Bar’s Legal Ethics Committee, in coordination with the Young Lawyers Section and the Written Publications Committee, once again sponsored the Legal Ethics Essay Contest, the purpose of which was to encourage the study of legal ethics at Indiana law schools and by recent law school graduates and paralegals. 


The Legal Ethics Committee is pleased to announce the first, second and third place winners for the 2016 Legal Ethics Essay Writing Contest.


Winner: Moral Enforcement: The Futility of Corporate Compliance Programs

By Anna Catherine Lopez


Second place: The Bad Guys: Tone from the Top & University Policy

By Anna Catherine Lopez


Third place: Ethics Beyond The Practice: Lawyers Uniquely Qualified To Lead In Such A Time As This


By James Brandon Dillon



 About Legal Ethics Committee


The Legal Ethics Committee seeks to raise the Bar’s ethical standards, promote the Bar’s ethical awareness, and clarify the Bar’s ethical responsibilities, all in accordance with the rules of the Supreme Court of Indiana.

The Committee issues formal written opinions from time to time, either in response to specific inquiries from Indiana State Bar Association members, or as a result of its determination that an opinion on the particular topic would be useful. Those formal opinions shall be upon questions of first impression in Indiana and other matters warranting general circulation in the judgment of the Committee. The Committee also provides informal ethical guidance via a telephone panel staffed by its own volunteers.  Finally, the Committee works with the Association and its constituent sections and committees to produce educational programming on professional responsibility issues.



Note: You must be logged in to view the Phone Advisory Panel. To login use the Member Login on the right side of the page.






 Steven Badger

 Vice Chair
 Cathy Canny

Staff Liaison

 Catheryne E. Pully
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal